Accreditation of Programs

The best preparation for the future of our profession is an education that will enable graduates to adapt to a changing world.

Adaptation to change requires that the graduate draw on history and on the experience of many cultures and apply the theories and methods of empirical investigation. A sound, well-rounded curriculum for professional emergency management education must provide a balance between the broad cultural aspects of education, on the one hand, and the specialized practical content integral to the profession, on the other hand. 

To ensure excellence, post-secondary programs must maintain high standards of student and institutional performance and the results must be measured against established performance standards.

CAEME, working through FEMA's Higher Education program with practitioners and academics from around the world, developed a set of educational standards based on a hierarchy of educational objectives, which is generally referred to as Bloom's Taxonomy; a set of emergency management practices, as defined by NFPA 1600; and general resource requirements that allow for a variety of approaches to accommodate individual institutional and program philosophy, mission, and goals.

There are twenty-three standards of excellence

1-4 relate to the general educational program

5-19 relate to the emergency management program, and

20-23 relate to the resources impacting educational quality

As with all standards, judgment of compliance is based on the expertise of experienced peer evaluators and precedent in accreditation, especially in relation to the impact of a program deficiency on student learning.


Evaluation Team Members

The Council dispatches an evaluation team to conduct site visits as part of the accreditation process. The team consists of a team leader and a select number of evaluators who are current CEMs and/or experienced educators teaching emergency management courses.

Length of Accreditation

 The Council expects accreditation will be good for a period of five years, or less, if the program undergoes major modifications.


 Fees are currently under review